To mark a task as not applicable, you can either:
On mobile, swipe all the way to the left.
On both mobile and web, toggle the checkbox to the right of the task name in the task view.
To mark a task as applicable again, simply repeat the same steps.
You can set a task as Not Applicable in two ways.